Wake Forest School of Medicine

North Carolina AHEC

Agenda Builder Loading..

About Northwest AHEC

Linking Education, Practice and Communities for Better Health

NorthwestAHEC: Linking Education, Practice and Communities for Better Health

Mission Statement

The Northwest Area Health Education Center is an educational outreach and training program designed to enhance the health of the public in its 17-county region by improving the supply, distribution, and quality of health and human service personnel--especially in primary care—through diverse community/academic partnerships.

Geographical Service Area

Our service area encompasses 17 counties in Northwest North Carolina: Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Iredell, Rowan, Stokes, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes and Yadkin.

Sub-regional Bases

In order to allow easy access of our services to our large geographic area, there are two sub-regional bases at community hospitals. These regional facilities house library collections, staff and classroom space for CE and other activities. The sub-regional bases are located at Watauga Medical Center (part of the Appalachian Regional Healthcare System) in Boone and Catawba Valley Medical Center in Hickory.

Key Service Areas

  • Health Careers - Diversity & Recruitment
  • Health Sciences Student Support
  • Graduate Medical Education (GME) & Patient Services
  • Support for Practicing Healthcare Professionals
  • Continuing Education Activities & Services
  • Practice Support Services
  • Information & Library Research Services

More Information

View in-depth program information, annual reports, and more at http://www.wakehealth.edu/northwest-ahec

Trending Courses

©2018 Northwest Area Health Education Center at Wake Forest School of Medicine, Medical Center Boulevard, Winston-Salem, NC 27157. All Rights Reserved.